BAKER COUNTY SHERIFF’S OFFICE

Sheriff Mitchell Southwick welcomes you to the official web site of the Baker County Oregon, Sheriff’s Office

Phone (541)523-6415 Fax (541)523-9219

3410 K Street Baker City, OR 97814

Press Log

 

Jail List

 

Press Release

 

BEACoN

 

Baker County

 

Baker County 911

 

DPSST

 

LEDS

 

Baker City

 

ORS Lookup

 

OSSA

 

Sheriffs Office mail

 

 

Concealed Handgun License Requirements

 

To qualify for a concealed handgun license you must:

Be at least 21 years of age

Be a US citizen

Have your principal residence in Baker County

Have your current address on you driver’s license

Provide written documentation that demonstrates that you have taken a handgun safety course

Pass an extensive background check

Pay appropriate fees

 

You must NOT:

 

Have any outstanding warrants for your arrest

Be on any form of pretrial release

Have convicted of or found guilty of a felony, except for insanity as provided by ORS 161.295

Have been committed to the mental health division under ORS 426.130

Have been found mentally ill under ORS 426.130 and prohibited from purchasing or possessing a firearm as a result of that mental illness

Have been dishonorably discharged from the military

Have ever renounced your U.S. citizenship

Never have been convicted of a disqualifying crime of domestic violence

Never have been convicted of a felony

Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor in the last four years

Not be a registered sex offender

Not have been convicted of more than one drug-related crime

 

Most of these provisions are outlined in ORS 166.291

 

New Applicants:  First time applicants must complete and personally hand in the concealed hand gun license application which can be obtained at the Sheriff’s Office located at 3410 K Street, Baker City, OR 97814.  At the time the application is turned in you will be photographed and fingerprinted.  The fee of $65 will be collected at that time.  You must provide documentation that demonstrates that you have taken a handgun safety course.  You must also provide two types of identification and proof of citizenship.  Documents that will meet these requirements are:  Oregon drivers license (can be used as citizenship documentation as well if obtained after July 2008) Birth Certificate, passport, voters registration card, a certificate of citizen ship No photocopies will be accepted.

 

The Concealed Handgun License is valid for four years.

 

Renewals:  To renew your concealed hand gun license, you must complete and personally hand in the application which can be obtained at the Sheriff’s Office located at 3410 K Street, Baker City, OR 97814.  All concealed handgun license holders wishing to renew their license must provide a proof of US Citizenship at the time of application. Documents that will meet these requirements are:  Oregon drivers license (can be used as citizenship documentation as well if obtained after July 2008) Birth Certificate, passport, voters registration card, a certificate of citizen ship No photocopies will be accepted.

 

Renewals are the responsibility of the CHL holder.

 

The Concealed Handgun License is valid for four years.

 

Address Change:  If you are a current Baker County CHL Cardholder and have moved within Baker County, please change your DMV infformation first and then come by the Sheriff’s Office to fill out the address change form and obtain an updated card.  Our hours are Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.  The cost of the address change is $15.

 

Transfering from another county to Baker County, is the same process as the address change with the exception that you will be re-fingerprinted for Baker County and the fee is $30.  ($15 to transfer you license and $15 for the fingerprints that the Oregon State Police charge the Sheriff’s Office to complete)

 

For more detailed information call (541) 523-6415

 

 

********** CAUTION **********

Possession of a CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE DOES NOT AUTHORIZE you to carry a firearm in any FEDERAL BUILDING, in certain areas on AIRPORT PROPERTY, or in ANY COURTHOUSE where the presiding judge has posted notice of such prohibition. If you are apprehended with a handgun on these premises, your concealed handgun license will be SEIZED AND RETURNED TO THE SHERIFF and your license may be revoked.

Also, possession of a concealed handgun without having a valid, current Concealed Handgun License with your current address on your person may result in your Concealed Handgun License being SEIZED and REVOKED. Always carry your CHL with you when in possession of a concealed handgun and it is the CHL cardholder’s responsibility to keep the card updated in the event you move to a new address or change your name.

Return to BCSO Home Page